Reviews



"Villa Miela is a beautiful boutique guest-house with a difference - the owners offer a range of sustainable activities as part of the deal, including kayaking, hiking, wine-tasting, mountain biking and more...located just 1km from Virpazar, gateway to Lake Skadar National Park, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring Lake Skadar and its environs."

"It was fantastic. First time we have done an activity holiday and will definitely do another, we learnt kayaking and hiked miles through the most stunning scenery. We swam in mountain springs and jumped from bridges in to the river, sat under waterfalls and met some fantastic people. Every day was fabulous"
Louise Hirons, September 2016

"The perfect trip for previously backpacking parents to introduce their family to the wonder of visiting places off the beaten track. It is the perfect trip for anyone who loves birds views hiking food and finding hidden gems in an undiscovered part of europe. Just dont tell too many people!!! "
Steph Bowler, August 2016

"Wonderful. The villa was a wonderful place to stay, we shared catering facilities and outings with other like minded people and thoroughly enjoyed the activities delivered by our hosts Ben and Emma. I will remember our holiday for many years to come."
Maggie Felton, August 2016

"For us the holiday ticked all the boxes for what we were looking for and the magic provided by Ben and Emma's personal touches and the other guests we met at Villa Miela made it all the more special. Thank you all for the wonderful memories."
Emma Sewell, August 2016

"Lived up to all expectations. We've done a few activity weeks and this was certainly one of the best."
Allan MacDonald, July 2016

"Great, very enjoyable, it was so calm and peaceful around the lake you felt miles away from everything else and the activities were very manageable making it a lovely relaxing holiday."
Jennifer Cummins, April 2016

"Difficult to pick one [best bit] from a week of fabulous experiences. Lake Skadar is stunningly beautiful, Villa Miela is very comfortable, the hiking and kayaking are both great and over a week you get to really experience the area through the eyes of people who know and love it. It is a fantastic holiday"
Linda Davies, September 2015

"This holiday has got it all. If you love nature in all it's aspects and you love to put your own effort into getting to know the scenery, this is your holiday!"
Katrien Ertryckx, July 2015

"Everytime you thought you'd seen the best Emma or Ben managed to show us something even more jaw droppingly beautiful. Every day was different, from the amazing wild life and birds, to the glorious hidden water pools high in the hills, to the monasteries in the lake, this holiday had everything.."
Debbie Maitland, July 2015

"Excellent, would certainly recommend. Montenegro is a stunning country. Jaw dropping views at every turn."
Deborah Waddell, June 2015

"Ben and Emma are keen spokespeople for Lake Skadar and tirelessly work towards promoting and protecting its stunning beauty...the best holiday we've had for quite a while."
Jo Jackson, October 2014

"The whole experience was fabulous...top marks!"
Peter Sorge, October 2014

"The trips took us to amazing places we would never have found on our own and we saw and did things we haven't done before. A fab trip."
Mike Platten, August 2014

"Watching our kids doing back flips off kayaks into Lake Skadar. Seeing bats fly out of a ruined citadel. Jumping into rivers and pools by waterfalls. Swimming in an enormous, and warm, lake. Staying in a perfect location...if you love exercise and doing things together as a family you cannot go wrong with this holiday."
Lynne Hargreaves, August 2014

"This is a great experience. Ben and Emma go out of their way to ensure the holiday is as good as it can be. Highly recommended."
Ian Burton, August 2014

"It was an amazing holiday. Highly recommended. For us, the natural beauty, local organic food, non-commercialized, exclusive activities really made this trip super special."
Leonie Erasmus, June 2014

"The whole trip was amazing, stunning scenery and lovely villa. We loved the hikes, out in the countryside seeing the local landscapes and the amazing insects. The stops for the wild swims in clear cool streams and sitting under waterfalls. The kayaking on the lake with the visits to the islands and swimming. It is a holiday we will never forget."
Liz Cush, June 2014

"It was fantastic. Ben & Emma are brilliant hosts and as a solo traveller, it was the perfect setting and country to take some much needed time out."
Agatha Willoughby, May 2014

"We had a great time. Perfect activities for families with teenagers and a beautiful setting...and such good value for money."
Hazel Edwards, May 2014

"A really fantastic experience in a beautiful part of the world. Ben and Emma are fantastic hosts, the accommodation was lovely and we felt that we got privileged access to genuinely unknown parts of Montenegro. I hesitate to give 5 stars simply because if we try to go again we may find that they are fully booked."
Russ and Liz Roberts, August 2013

"Hard to praise [the holiday] enough. It kept three teenagers completely happy which is no mean feat. It was beautiful, active, very comfortable and highly informative - what more could you want?"
Kate Vernon-Rees, August 2013

"This has been an incredible holiday, we didn't stop saying how wonderful it was all the time we were there. Everything from the scenery, the food, the activities, the people, they all joined together to make an unforgettable holiday and one that I want to recommend to all my friends."
Jane Barnes, July 2013

"A fantastic active holiday. The days sped by but it felt like we had been on vacation for weeks! Ben and Emma were great hosts who did everything to make your stay enjoyable and unique. Go there before the crowds catch on to what they are missing."
Jenny Abbott, July 2013

"The whole trip was fabulous - walking through wild herbs in the mountains, incredible views, swimming in the clearest mountain pools with no one else around, amazing lunch with Tanya, kayaking and swimming in the lake, wine tasting, a great bunch of people...we loved it all."
Sue Winsbury, July 2013

"Ben & Emma have woven such principles into the activities - from eating at a local farm to bearing witness to the park's natural resources - it was an effortlessly, responsible holiday."
Vibha Jaiswal, July 2013

"Excellent. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone that is looking for an active holiday, stunning scenery and great fun. Your hosts will go out of their way to ensure you have a great time."
Hayley Valente, July 2013

"A truly memorable holiday, all I expected and more. Outstanding. And a great father/daughter bonding time that neither of us will forget"
Gearoid Lane, June 2013

"The villa grounds are kept as a natural haven for wildlife, whilst not being too wild for visitors. The well planned tours have a minimal impact on the local environment and, hopefully, provide a positive precedent for the locals and National Park to follow. All in all, the holiday was fantastic!"
Jamie Anderson, May 2013

"The Kayak trips on Lake Skadar blew me away. The relative solitude combined with the impressive landscapes on both the Montenegrin and Albanian sides of the lake made it one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. I really couldn't have wished for a better holiday."
Mandy Reynolds, May 2013

"We are reborn! Simply the best holiday we have ever been on!"
Gabi and Paul Brogan, August 2012

"There were many memorable events; easing ourselves into crystal clear, fresh water, freezing rock pools! The 2 excellent meals prepared for us by Tania at her home...everything home produced; breads, cheese, cured ham, wine, hare casserole etc. The kayak trip and the visit to the monasteries where we met a wonderfully enthusiastic nun and the enthusiasm and helpfulness of our hosts : Ben and Emma. They could not have done more for us"
April Saltmarsh, June 2012

"5 stars. Our hosts could not do enough for us."
David Bell, June 2012

"Excellent, one of the best holidays we have ever had. Just the right mix of activities, met and made new friends, stayed at a brilliant tranquil location. Perfect."
Debbie McCarty, June 2012

"An absolutely awesome holiday and we would have liked more time to see even more of the fantastically stunning scenery, based in a great house with superb hosts! What more can I say, other than wish we were still there!!"
David Lewis & Caroline Sharp, May 2012

"Emma and Ben offer a personal introduction to an area which is not yet highly developed for activity/tourism. Their lovely villa is beautifully appointed and a perfect base for the guided trips and activities. We enjoyed a wonderful hike into the local hills, swimming in seclusion in (ice cold but refreshing) rock pools of the type you usually see only in brochures of the tropics (and which are usually crowded with hundreds of others), a fantastic kayaking trip to isolated island monasteries, and an on and off road driving and walking tour across a landscape that varied from high narrow passes to snaking rivers and luscious flood plains. Their enthusiasm and knowledge was really helpful in allowing us to get the most out of the trips."
John and Jean Almond, August 2011

"...it was all so good. The scenery was amazing and spectacular but without the crowds to share it with. Canoeing on Lake Skadar with no-one else, swimming in the warm water, watching the wild-life, and visiting uninhabited islands and islands with a monastery and convent, hardly visited by anyone else... Emma and Ben use local people where they can to share their heritage, for example having a meal in a local house with delicious home produce and wine...an excellent holiday, one of the best ever and we've been on some amazing ones."
Amanda and Adrian Parker, August 2011

"Great kayaking, birding, and hospitality of our hosts. It was one of the most adventurous holidays we have ever been on. The beauty is astounding, the ability to see nature in a low impact way is amazing as well. My husband couldn't get over the wild figs and produce growing everywhere. It opened our eyes to a whole new world."
Christina Spann and Brian Edwards, September 2011

"Thank you so much again we had such a wonderful and unusual holiday! It was one of the best holidays we have ever had. We enjoyed our tours, nature, nice company and hospitality - and the welcome meal was so tasty and delicious, (the best in Montenegro) you should think about opening your own restaurant. Thanks!!!"
Julia and Anna, August 2011